![]()
These databases are the most specific to art and art history. When accessing articles in full text databases choose the PDF version of the article rather than HTML. Often the HTML version will not have the original images associated with the article. This is an important consideration in the arts.
Art Abstracts
-Provides comprehensive indexing and abstracts for more than 450 international art publications, including periodicals, yearbooks, and museum bulletins.
Arts and Humanities Citation Index
Multidisciplinary database covering the journal literature of the arts and humanities.
Oxford Art Online
- A fulltext database
Includes the Encyclopedia of Aesthetics, The Oxford Companion to Western Art, and The Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art Terms. Grove Art Online also includes image partnerships with ARTstor, the British Museum, the Museum of Modern Art, the Metropolitan Museum of Art, Art Images for College Teaching, Art Resource, Artists Rights Society and numerous international art galleries and artists.
![]()
These databases will also have content pertaining to art and art history. They will be particularly useful if your subject overlaps another discipline or needs to be placed within a context. For example "Tribal Art" is not only about art, it is about culture and anthropology.
Academic Search Premier
- A fulltext database
Spanning academic disciplines with coverage of popular press and scholarly publications, including peer-reviewed journals.
Anthropological Literature
A bibliographic index to articles and essays on anthropology and archaeology, including art history, demography, economics, psychology, and religious studies.
Humanities International Complete
- A fulltext database
Covers all aspects of the humanities.
International Medieval Bibliography
A bibliography of over 330,000 articles published in over 30 languages and fully classified by date,
subject and location.
Iter: Gateway to the Middle Ages and Renaissance (400-1700)
Created for the advancement of learning in the study and teaching of the Middle Ages and Renaissance (400-1700).
JSTOR
Provides image and full-text online access to back issues of selected scholarly journals in a variety of subject areas.
Project Muse
- A fulltext database
Articles from more than 200 scholarly journals in history and the humanities, the social sciences and the sciences.
![]()
We have many electronic art journals available full text within the databases. When accessing articles in full text databases choose the PDF version of the article rather than HTML. Often the HTML version will not have the original images associated with the article. This is an important consideration in the arts.
We also have print version of journals available in the library. It is essential to look at print versions for areas such as grapic design, web design, painting, and more. A PDF copy online will not deliver the graphic quality that comes with print production. Print journals are located in the Periodicals Reading Room (recent versions) on the second floor next to Java City and in the stacks (bound journals). Check the catalog for the journal you are looking for and it's location. Some of the important art print journals we have include:
American Art
Ameican Ceramics
Apeture (available in Archives and Special Collections)
Apollo
Architectural Review
Art on Paper
ArtForum International
Burlington Magazine
Ceramics Monthly
Communication Arts
Design Annual
Journal of Material Culture
Folk Art
Novum
Print
Sculpture
Women's Art Journal