Article Databases: Economics Subject Guide

If you want to find an article, then you'll need a DATABASE to locate one. Select from the list below:

 

Subject-Specific Databases

EconLit
Searchable database containing citations and abstracts to the world's economic literature compiled from the American Economic Association's Journal of Economic Literature.  Click here to see a list of journals indexed in EconLit.

Economia y Negocios
Index to business and economics research published in Spanish- and Portuguese-language periodicals. Search functionality is enhanced through the incorporation of author keywords supplied in Spanish and English.

NBER Working Paper Series
NBER researchers initially report their findings in these scientific papers aimed at other professional economists in academic institutions, business, government, and the business media around the world.  If you have any problems downloading the full text of a working paper, see the NBER troubleshooting guide.

 

Generalist and Related-topics Databases

ABI/INFORM Complete
This database covers resources in business, economics and trade, and accounting and taxation.  Contains journals, newspapers, and trade publications, including the Wall Street Journal back to 1984.  Has both abstracts and full-text articles. Coverage: 1971-present.

To read more about the contents and scope of this database, see the full product description.

Academic Search Premier
A collection of general-interest and subject-specific academic journals, magazines, newspapers, and books; some full-text.

For tips on using this database, watch the Adobe Flash Presentation (runtime 6.18 min) or PowerPoint Tutorial

Business Source Complete
Full-text database of business and economics journals and trade publications; also contains Datamonitor company profiles, industry profiles, market research reports, SWOT analyses, and EIU Country Reports. Some coverage dates back to 1965.

For tips on using this database, watch the Adobe Flash Presentation (runtime 2.5 min) or PowerPoint Tutorial

Dissertation Abstracts Online
Searchable database of abstracts of dissertations and select theses from institutions in North America and Europe. The full text of University of Mississippi dissertations is available online from 1997-forward.

To read more about the contents and scope of this database, see the full product description.

JSTOR
Provides full-text (PDFs) back issues of scholarly journals in history, economics, political science, demography, mathematics and other humanities and social sciences. Titles usually have a 4-6 year embargo, but the backfiles usually begin with volume 1.

For tips on using this database, read the Searching JSTOR brief overview or watch the Adobe Flash Presentation (runtime 4.31 min) and take the quiz.

TRANSPORT
Bibliographic database of transportation research and economic information produced by the OECD, together with the United States' Transportation Research Board (TRB) and the 31 nations of the European Conference of Ministers of Transport (ECMT). See Database Guide for more information.